Gregory Brown
513 Agnes Arnold Hall
Department of Philosophy
University of Houston
Houston, TX 77204-3004


German Lothringen

region, encompassing the northeastern French départements of Vosges, Meuse, Meurthe-et-Moselle, and Moselle and roughly coextensive with the historical region of Lorraine. The capital is Metz. The region has an area of 9,092 square miles (23,547 square km) and is bounded by the départements of Ardennes and Marne to the west, Haute-Marne and Haute-Saône to the south, and Haut-Rhin and Bas-Rhin to the east. Germany, Luxembourg, and Belgium lie to the north.

By the treaty of Verdun (AD 843), the three sons of the Carolingian emperor Louis I the Pious divided the Frankish territory into three parts: Francia Occidentalis went to Charles II. the Bald (823-877), Francia Orientalis to Louis the German, and Francia Media, the zone extending from the Low Countries to Italy, to the emperor Lothair I. This Francia Media was partitioned by Lothair I in 855 between his sons: the elder, Louis II, received Italy and the imperial title; the younger, Lothair, received the northern area, henceforward known as Lothair's kingdom, or Lotharingia.

This kingdom was bounded on the north by the North Sea; on the east by a line from the mouth of the Ems River to Wesel and then by the Rhine southward to the confluence of the Aare River (but with a westward recession of the frontier that left Mainz, Worms, and Speyer to the Germans); on the south by the Aare and by the Jura Mountains; and on the west by the Saône River (from a point just south of the Doubs confluence) and the Ornain, Meuse, and Schelde rivers.

After King Lothair died without heirs in 869, sovereignty over the area was repeatedly contested until 925, when it was finally conquered by the German king Henry I, who created the duchy of Lotharingia. His successor, Otto I, eventually entrusted the duchy to his brother, Bruno, archbishop of Cologne.

In 959 Bruno divided Lotharingia into two parts, the southern Upper Lorraine and the northern Lower Lorraine, with their boundary running from a point on the Rhine north of Andernach westward and southwestward to a point on the Meuse north of Mézières. Lower Lorraine thus included most of the historic Netherlands belonging to the German kingdom between the Rhine, middle Meuse, and Schelde rivers, while Upper Lorraine included the Ardennes, the Moselle valley, and the upper Meuse valley. From the time of Bruno's death (965), the two duchies remained separate, except for the years 1033–44. By the early 12th century the duchy of Lower Lorraine was being rivaled by the growing countships of Limburg, Hainaut, Louvain, and Namur; and in 1190 the reigning duke dropped the title Duke of Lothier (i.e., Lower Lorraine) and took that of Duke of Brabant, as Henry I (d. 1235).

With the dissolution of the Lower duchy, the Upper duchy came to be called simply Lorraine. It remained with one Gerard of Châtenois and his male descendants from 1048 to 1431. The authority of these dukes was offset not only by the temporal power of the three bishoprics within their frontiers, namely Metz, Toul, and Verdun, but also by the rise of great feudal dynasties: the counts of Luxembourg challenged the dukes in the north; the counts of Bar were dangerous vassals in the west; and from 1070 a junior branch of the ducal house held the countship of Vaudémont in the southwest. The dukes, who had their capital at Nancy, therefore sought the protection of their suzerains, the German kings or emperors, but, from 1250 on, these sovereigns were too weak to protect Lorraine from French and Burgundian encroachments. Lorraine, united with Bar and Vaudémont in 1480, nevertheless survived and even rose to the zenith of its prosperity in the late 16th century.

French domination of the area dates from the 17th century, when control of the duchy became vital in the struggles between the French kings and the Habsburgs, who ruled the Holy Roman Empire. The French had already established a foothold by taking Metz, Toul, and Verdun in 1552, and they occupied the duchy a number of times in the devastating wars of the 17th century. Lorraine was given to Stanislaw I, the former king of Poland and father-in-law of the French king Louis XV, by the treaties ending the War of the Polish Succession (1738). On Stanislaw's death in 1766, Lorraine was incorporated into France as an administrative généralité under an intendant (royal governor), with Nancy as its capital. It was broken up into départements during the French Revolution (1790).

Part of Lorraine, along with Alsace, was joined to the German Reich after the French defeat in the Franco-German War of 1870–71 but was returned to France at the end of World War I.

Lorraine contains some of the largest iron-ore deposits in Europe. The ore is low-grade, however, and major development of the Lorraine field took place only after the Franco-German War, when the Thomas-Gilchrist process enabled its ores to be used in steelmaking. In subsequent decades the Lorraine ore field was rapidly developed on both sides of the frontier and came to account for the bulk of French production. Despite the attractions of jobs in the mines and mills of Lorraine, it, like most regions of France, lost population during the 20th century. The population is heavily concentrated along the Moselle River between Nancy and Thionville. Vosges, western Meuse, and southern Meurthe-et-Moselle remain largely rural.

Emigration from the countryside has encouraged the spread of animal husbandry. Dairying dominates agriculture, with the result that barley has supplanted wheat as the region's leading cereal. Viticulture is largely limited to the area around Toul. Forests cover more than one-third of the land.

The production of coal, which is concentrated around Forbach, declined sharply after 1960. Iron is mined around Briey (Meurthe-et-Moselle), Longwy, and Thionville; production has been undermined by imports of high-grade ores, with the result that metalworking industries have contracted. Salt is mined in Meurthe-et-Moselle around Dombasle-sur-Meurthe.

Lorraine is linked by railroad to Berlin, Amsterdam, Brussels, Basel, and Milan and has benefited from the establishment of the European Economic Community in 1957. The regional park of Lorraine was opened in 1974 and occupies parts of Meuse, Meurthe-et-Moselle, and Moselle. Lorraine is part of the Paris Basin except for the massif (mountain mass) of the Vosges in the east. Pop. (1990) 2,305,726.

Copyright © 1994-2002 Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.


  • Encylopedia Britannica 2002, Expanded Edition DVD

The Web